United Fresh awards to honor produce managers - The Packer

United Fresh awards to honor produce managers

03/20/2012 05:10:00 PM
Mike Hornick

The United Fresh Produce Association plans to honor 25 produce managers at its annual trade show May 1 in Dallas.

Winners of the United Fresh retail produce manager awards come from 15 states plus Canada, and represent 12 supermarket chains, independent retailers and commissaries, according to a news release.

The trade show, United Fresh 2012, runs May 1-3. The managers and their corporate produce directors will gather at the chairman’s reception and produce celebration dinner May 1 at the Hyatt Dallas at Reunion. Five grand prize winners will also receive $1,000 each.

The awards recognize efforts to increase produce consumption through merchandising, displays, promotions, customer and community service.

The winners are:

  • Leslie Alex, Hannaford Bros., Dover, N.H.;
  • Ricky Allemand, Brookshire Grocery Co., New Iberia, La.;
  • John Ballard, Food City/K-VA-T Food Stores, Lafollete, Tenn.;
  • Phil Burgess, Safeway Stores, Bend, Ore.;
  • Brian Burrow, Brookshire Grocery Co., Whitehouse, Texas;
  • Franklin Bys, Hy-Vee, Inc., Coralville, Iowa;
  • James Campbell, Sunflower Farmers Market, Denver;
  • Brian Collegnon, Rueben’s County Market , Hartford, Wis.;
  • Ross Corbin Conrad, Colemans Food Centres, Corner Brook, Newfoundland;
  • Brian Corbitt, Bel Air Market/Raley’s Family of Fine Stores, Sacramento, Calif.;
  • Jolene Cyr, Food Maxx/Save Mart Supermarkets, Fairfield, Calif.;
  • Ron Danielson, Raley’s Family of Fine Stores, Woodland, Calif.;
  • Chad Faulk, Harris Teeter, Charlotte, N.C.;
  • John Heon, Big Y Foods, Lee, Mass.;
  • Rich Jackson, Quality Food Centers, Sammamish, Wash.;
  • Steve Kaminski, Jewel-Osco, Westmont, Ill.;
  • Charmagne Kendrick, VG’s Food Center/Spartan Stores, Fenton, Mich.;
  • Jim Kesteloot, , Harris Teeter, Reston, Va.;
  • Michael Kolek, Jewel-Osco, Schaumburg, Ill.;
  • Brian Langdon, The Kroger Co., Cincinnati;
  • Mike McElmeel, Hy-Vee, Inc., Silvis, Ill.;
  • Elizabeth Myers, New River MCAS Commissary, Jacksonville, N.C.;
  • Wanda Ivy Nicholas, Travis Air Force Base Commissary, Travis, Calif.;
  • Nick Puleo, Vons, San Diego; and
  • George Sanders, Price Chopper/Golub Corp., Barre, Vt.

Ready Pac Foods sponsors the awards program, now in its eighth year. It’s presented through the United Fresh Produce Association Foundation’s Center for Leadership Excellence.

Prev 1 2 Next All

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight