The Fresh Produce Association of the Americas has elected board members and named a member of the year.

Jaime Chamberlain, president of Nogales, Ariz.-based J-C Distributing Inc., received the association’s Member of the Year award at its annual membership meeting May 7 in Nogales, largely for his advocacy for Mexican tomato growers during their dispute with Florida growers over price floors, according to an FPAA news release.

“During the tomato conflict, Jaime Chamberlain stepped up to the plate numerous times for media requests,” Lance Jungmeyer, FPAA’s president, said in the release. “He was featured on NPR, Arizona television stations and major national newspapers. He helped bring home the impact on U.S. business during this very important debate on trade.”

On the FPAA board, Alejandro Canelos of Nogales-based Apache Produce Imports will be chairman for one more year. SunFed’s Matt Mandel will be chairman-elect until taking over as chairman in 2014.

Also at the May 7 meeting, seven distributor directors and two associate directors were elected to the board, and a new FPAA tomato division chairman was named.

Gonzalo Avila, Walter Ram, Brent Harrison and Scott Vandervoet were re-elected to two-year terms.

Chris Ciruli, Atanasio Panousopoulos and JJ Badillo were elected to new two-year terms.

Sabrina Hallman was re-elected to a one year term as an associate member director, and Rosie Cornelius was newly elected for a one-year term as an associate member director.

Badillo was elected chairman of the tomato division.