Five leaders “vital to the long-term success of the trade” entered the Texas Produce Hall of Fame this spring at a banquet held April 16 in McAllen, Texas.

The Texas Produce Association’s annual awards banquet, April 16 in McAllen, is one of the Mission-based association’s most popular events, said Ed Bertaud, director of business development at Houston-based IFCO and chairman of the association, in a news release.

“Its goals are twofold: to pay tribute to those who have made significant contributions to the success of the produce industry in Texas and to encourage future generations to carry it forward,” he said.Five inducted into Texas Produce Hall of Fame

This year’s honorees were Dan Seitz, owner of Pharr, Texas-based Valley Fruit & Vegetable Co., Dorothy Valdez, sales manager at McAllen-based Val Verde Vegetable Co., Charlie Dains of Mission-based C&V Supply Inc., and independent citrus farmer Wayne Bonham. The Scott Toothaker Award for dedication and service to the industry went to Jerry Kachtik, a Rio Grande Valley-based buyer for the Cincinnati-based Kroger Co.