Governor appoints 3 to Idaho Potato Commission - The Packer

Governor appoints 3 to Idaho Potato Commission

11/03/2013 07:45:00 PM
Coral Beach

Courtesy IPCRitchey Toevs (left), Peggy Grover and Tommy Brown take the oath to serve three-year terms on the board of the Idaho Potato Commission.Idaho Gov. C.L. “Butch” Otter approved nominations from the state’s potato industry and appointed three new members to the Idaho Potato Commission recently. 

The commission’s vice president of legal affairs Pat Kole swore in Tommy Brown, Peggy Grover and Ritchey Toevs at the group’s October meeting in Sun Valley, Idaho, according to a news release. The three commissioners are all appointed for three-year terms.

Commission president and chief executive officer Frank Muir said in the release the trio has critical expertise that will help the commission identify new opportunities and markets for Idaho potatoes. The new board members are all active with industry organizations, the release said.

Brown, from ConAgra Foods Lamb Weston, Pocatello, is chairman of the raw products committee for the Idaho Association of Commerce and Industry and serves on the agricultural affairs committee for the Idaho Potato Commission.

Grover, from BenchMark Potato, Rexburg, most recently served as chairwoman of the Idaho Growers Shippers Association.

Toevs, a grower from Aberdeen, has been vice president of trade affairs for the National Potato Council and co-chair of the international marketing committee of the U. S. Potato Board.

There are six other commissioners on the board, which represents Idaho potato growers, shippers and processors. They are:

• Michael Christensen, Christensen Farms;

• Boyd Foster, Vista Valley Ag, Inc. & Foster Co.;

• Jeff Harper, Flying H Farms;

• Dan Moss, Moss Farms;

• Dan Nakamura, Idahoan Foods; and

• Lynn Wilcox, Wlicox, Floyd & Sons.

Dan Moss is chairman and Boyd Foster is vice chairman this fiscal year.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight