Six to join Texas Produce Hall of Fame - The Packer

Six to join Texas Produce Hall of Fame

04/23/2014 04:27:00 PM
Pamela Riemenschneider

prewett mcclungRay Prewett, left, and John McClung enter the Texas Produce Hall of Fame April 28 as this year's Scott Toothaker Award recipients. The Texas Produce Hall of Fame has six new members this year, including two of the most recognizable faces in the Texas produce industry.

John McClung, longtime president of the Mission-based Texas International Produce Association, and Ray Prewett, president of Texas Citrus Mutual and the executive vice president of the Texas Vegetable Association, are this year’s Scott Toothaker Award honorees. The award, established in 1989, recognizes those not directly involved in production agriculture who have made special contributions to the industry.

Produce Hall of Fame inductees also include Bill Robertson, a grower for Griffin & Brand, Elmore & Stahl Inc., Starr Produce and Valley Onions, Lloyd Miller, sales manager for Healds Valley Citrus, David Peterson, owner of Starr Produce and Tex Starr Produce, and George “Eddie” Edwards, owner of Double E Sales and Edwards Distributing Company.

The Texas Produce Hall of Fame is a biannual celebration established in 1988, said Bret Erickson, president of the Texas International Produce Association.

“Of all the events we do, the Hall of Fame is probably the most esteemed event that the Texas International Produce Association puts on,” he said. “It really is an honor and a privilege to be part of such an amazing evening, and you can’t help but feel a great sense of humility being surrounded by these individuals who have built the foundation on which we now stand.”

To date, the organizations have given 19 Scott Toothaker awards and 138 living and posthumous Hall of Fame awards. A Hall of Fame banquet is scheduled for April 28 in McAllen.

Comments (0) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight