The U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved 13 members to serve on the National Watermelon Promotion Board.

The appointments are effective immediately, according to a Jan. 14 news release from the USDA.

Newly appointed producer members, with three-year terms, are:

  • Autumn Freeman, Bruceville, Ind.;
  • Sarah Frey-Talley, Keenes, Ill.;
  • Arthur Saikhon Jr., El Centro, Calif.;
  • Kevin Antongiovanni, Bakersfield, Calif.;
  • Chuck Botsford, Lake Oswego, Ore.; and
  • John Morrow of Deming, N.M.

Handlers named to three-year terms are:

  • Ed McClellan, Ann Arbor, Mich.;
  • Joseph Paul Gomes, Manteca, Calif.;
  • Joshua Knox, El Dorado Hills, Calif.; and
  • David Mayhue, Springdale, Ark.

Handler Brad Jones, of Clermont, Fla., will complete a two-year term, according to the release. Reappointed members include handlers Thomas Runyan from Las Cruces, N.M., and Bradley Toney of Oaktown, Ind., who will each serve a three-year term.