The U.S. Department of Agriculture has named five members and seven alternates to the Hass Avocado Board.

According to a news release, terms begin Nov. 1, except for two alternate producer members whose terms begin immediately.

Grower members with three-year terms are Bob Schaar, Fallbrook, Calif. (incumbent); Thomas Escalante, Ventura, Calif.; and Laurie Luschei, Carpinteria, Calif.; and grower alternates Michael Adams, Temecula, Calif.; Linda Mullins, Temecula; and Lyle Kafader, Fallbrook.

Custodio Aguilar, San Diego, is a new grower alternate with a two-year term and Jim Swoboda, Goleta, Calif., is a grower alternate with a one-year term.

Importers appointed for three-year terms are Christopher Henry, Coral Gables, Fla., (incumbent); and David Fausset, Oxnard, Calif.

Importer alternate members appointed for three-year terms are Jorge Hernandez, Pharr, Texas; and Gahl Crane, Vernon, Calif. (incumbent).

Established in 2002, the board administers fresh domestic and imported hass avocados sold in the U.S.