Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed nine members and their alternates to serve on the national U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council. Each representative serves a three-year term of office beginning Jan.1, according to a news release from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

The U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council is one of 20 research and promotion boards authorized by Congress and administered by the USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service, according to the release.

Growers appointed to the council are:


  • Doug Perkins, Fresno, Calif.;
  • John Bennett, Alma, Ga.;
  • Robert Carini, West Olive, Mich.;
  • Tim Wetherbee, Hammonton, N.J.;
  • Steven M. Erickson, Salem, Ore.; and
  • Bryan Sakuma, Bow, Wash.

Others appointed to the council are:

  • Brian Bocock, South Haven, Mich.; (importer);
  • Parm Bains, British Columbia, Canada (importer); and
  • Guy Cotton, Morada, Calif. (handler)


Alternates named to the group are:


  • Leland “Buck” Klein, Bakersfield, Calif.;
  • Adair Peterson, Homerville, Ga.;
  • George Fritz, Jr., Bloomingdale, Mich.;
  • Dennis Doyle, New Lisbon, N.J.;
  • Douglas Krahmer, St. Paul, Ore.;
  • Rob Dhaliwal, Lynden, Wash.
  • Janice Honigberg, Chicago;
  • Raymon Biln, British Columbia; and
  • Brian Caster, Salinas, Calif.