The Washington State Potato Commission, Moses Lake, has elected leadership staff.

Washington potato group elects leadershipBeginning July 1, Bob Halverson, a grower from Toppenish, Wash., will take over as chairman for the group, according to a news release.

Halverson replaces Darrin Morrison, who served as chairman for the past year.

Morrison will continue serving on the board, according to the release.

“Even though my term as chair is completed, I plan on maintaining the focus that we have on some new activities and I will enjoy helping develop those and continue being an advocate for potato growers throughout our state,” Morrison said in the release.

Other members of the WSPC’s executive staff are:

  • Jared Balcom, Pasco, first vice chairman;
  • Nelson Cox, Warden, second vice chairman;
  • Mike Dodds, Moses Lake, secretary; and
  • Nick Johnson, Othello, treasurer.