Twelve named to National Watermelon Promotion Board - The Packer

Twelve named to National Watermelon Promotion Board

02/18/2010 01:22:47 PM
Andy Nelson

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack appointed 12 members to the National Watermelon Promotion Board on Feb. 17.

Six producer and six handler members were chosen for the Plant City, Fla.-based board, according to a news release from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Two producer members were reappointed:
• Keith Hall (district two), owner, Hall Farms, Ryan, Okla.
• Robert Rawlins (district three), owner, Rawlins Farm, Rebecca, Ga.

The four new producer members are:
• Hank Floyd (district two), owner, H&L Farms LLC, Malone, Fla.
• Ricky Tucker (district three), owner, Tucker Farms, Enigma, Ga.
• Gene Guerra (district six), owner, Gene Guerra Co. Inc., Elsa, Texas
• Dana Cornell Strong (district six), vice president of operations, Palmer Farm & Ranch Inc., Waller, Texas

The six new handler members are:
• Brent Jackson (district two), president, Jackson’s Farming Co. of Autryville, Autryville, N.C.
• Tony Moore (district two), president, Moore’s Produce Inc., Turkey, N.C.
• Angela O’Neal-Chappell (district three), business development manager, Coosaw Farms, Fairfax, S.C.
• Leslie Ann Bloebaum (district three), vice president, Delta Fresh Sales Inc., Tifton, Ga.
• Ward Thomas (district six), owner, Majestic Produce Sales, McAllen, Texas
• Tony Anderson (district six), owner, Texas Melon Exchange, Edinburg, Texas

The new board members will serve three-year terms ending Dec. 31, 2012.

Comments (1) Leave a comment 

e-Mail (required)


characters left

Florida  |  August, 05, 2012 at 10:38 AM

We purchased Moore's Watermelon yesterday and it is very good...I would like to know how this watermelon is grown...Is it GMO? Or is it organic ? Also do you produce seeded watermelon? And what locations other than Walmart do you deliver to in North Florida? (Specifically Palm Coast area) Thanks for a quick response..

Feedback Form
Leads to Insight