The U.S. Department of Agriculture has released an interim rule preventing the shipment of fresh Florida citrus to five states and five U.S. territories because of concern about citrus canker, the Lakeland-based newspaper The Ledger reported. The USDA had announced in June its plan to implement the ban.

The only amendment to that original announcement was news that shipments to Alabama will be allowed under the interim regulation.  Alabama, which has a small number of Satsuma orange growers, originally was included in the quarantine list. Its removal came after Alabama Agriculture Commissioner Ron Sparks said last month that he would not comply with the proposed ban.

The following U.S. states and territories are banned from receiving Florida citrus for the coming season: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Louisiana, Texas, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.