( File photo )

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has appointed three members to the Mushroom Council, Redwood Shores, Calif.

Their three-year terms on the nine-member council begins Jan. 1, according to a news release.

The new members are:

  • Edward Wuensch III, Gonzales, Texas, Region 1;
  • M. Fletcher Street, Olympia, Wash., Region 1; and
  • Mark Moran, Kennett Square, Pa., Region 2.

Region 2, which has four growers on the council, is the state of Pennsylvania; Region 3, which has two growers, is the state of California; and Region 1, which has two growers, is the rest of the country. One importer represents Region 4.

Related stories:

Mushroom Council Oks $1.5 million for nutrition research

Whole Kids Foundation teams up with Mushroom Council

Mushroom Council sponsors Taste America