( Courtesy Texas International Produce Association )

Seven leaders in the industry will be inducted into the Texas Produce Hall of Fame in January.

The new members of the Hall of Fame are:

  • Kathy Reavis
  • Aquiles J. Garza
  • Charles La Grange
  • Jimmy Pawlik
  • Lawrence Kroman
  • Harold Macomb (posthumous)
  • Boone La Grange (posthumous)

Jimmy Santos will be honored with the 2020 Scott Toothaker Award for dedication and service as a partner to the industry, according to a news release from the Texas International Produce Association, Mission. The Toothaker award, established in 1989, goes to individuals who are not directly involved in growing produce, but have made contributions, according to the release

The Texas Hall of Fame Banquet for the honorees is scheduled for Jan. 27 in McAllen. The hall of fame was established in 1988 to recognize men and women who have contributed to the betterment of the industry throughout the state, according to the release.

Since then, there have been 143 people named to the hall of fame, and 23 Toothaker awards have been presented.

The awards ceremony is every other year. It also serves as a fundraiser for the William E. Weeks Agricultural Scholarship, named for the former head of the association for 20 years, when it was known as the Texas Produce Association. The scholarship encourages future generations to pursue an education in specialty crop agriculture, according to the release.

Related story:

Texas Hall of Fame welcomes citrus, vegetable veterans