New members of the Texas Produce Hall of Fame include Jimmy Santos (from left), Charles La Grange, Aquiles J. Garza, Kathy Reavis, Lawrence Kroman and Jimmy Pawlik. ( Courtesy Hector Garza/Texas International Produce Assoviation )

Texas produce growers gathered to celebrate the 2020 inductees into the Texas Produce Hall of Fame.

More than 250 people attended the Jan. 27 celebration at the McAllen Country Club, according to a news release from the Texas International Produce Association.

This year’s Texas Produce Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Harold Macomb (posthumous),
  • Ross LaGrange (posthumous),
  • Kathy Reavis of Reavis Farms;
  • Charlie LaGrange, J&D Produce;
  • Lawrence Kroman of I-Kunik;
  • Jimmy Pawlik of Pawlik Farms; and
  • Aquiles Garza, of Bebo Distributing.

Jimmy Santos of Santos International U.S. Customs Brokers received the Scott Toothaker Award, which recognizes contributions from those who are directly involved in the fresh produce industry, according to the release.

“It’s a privilege to be part of this industry and serving as chairman of the Hall of Fame Committee is truly an honor,” Bob Peterson, formerly of C&V Supply of Mission, Texas, said in the release. “Our biggest challenge as a committee is finalizing a list of honorees when there are so many deserving people.”

The Hall of Fame inducts new members every other year.

“The Hall of Fame is always an incredibly touching and moving event,” Texas International Produce Association president and CEO Dante Galeazzi said in the news release. “Hearing the stories of leaders who laid the foundation for our region’s success, who fought and built what we now take as ‘truisms’ of our industry, it is a wonderful chance to show our gratitude for their achievements.”

For 32 years, the Texas Produce Hall of Fame has recognized the region’s industry leaders.

Related story:

Texas Hall of Fame welcomes citrus, vegetable veterans