Cindy Jewell, United Fresh chairwoman and vice president of marketing for California Giant Berry Farms, presents Ron Carkoski with the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award at the United Fresh Produce Association’s FreshStart in January. ( Courtesy United Fresh )

The United Fresh Produce Association is seeking nominations for the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award recognizes individuals who have made lasting contributions to the fresh produce industry through a lifetime of achievement, according to a news release.

This year’s recipient will be the featured speaker and recognized at the gala dinner at the FreshStart Conference, Jan. 14-16, according to the release.

“Throughout the produce supply chain, many have dedicated their careers to the advancement of fresh produce consumption,” Tom Stenzel, United Fresh president and CEO, said in the release. “I look forward to honoring this year’s recipient during the FreshStart Conference in January as we kick off a year of delivering the fresh produce experience to children and their families.”

Recipients are selected based on their efforts and impact in their business, community and industry as well as a commitment to increasing produce consumption, according to the release.

Nominations are open until Sept. 6. Visit to nominate an individual.

Past Lifetime Achievement Award honorees include:

  • Ron Carkoski 
  • Hugh Topper
  • Bruce McEvoy
  • Rick and Tonya Antle 
  • Mike Cavallero 
  • Joe Procacci
  • Reggie Griffin
  • Frieda Caplan 
  • Bob Grimm (posthumously)

Related Content
United Fresh to honor Carkoski with Lifetime Achievement Award
United Fresh Start Foundation to host 2020 FreshStart Conference