The Hass Avocado Board has elected new executive committee members. They are Ben Van Der Kar (from left), secretary; Dave Fausett, treasurer; Jorge Hernandez, chairman; and Salvador Dominguez, vice-chairman. ( Courtesy Hass Avocado Board )

The Hass Avocado Board has elected new members to its executive committee.

The board’s 2020 executive committee members were elected Nov. 7 in Newport Beach, Calif., during a board meeting, according to a news release.
The new committee members are:

  • Chairman: Jorge Hernandez, an importer from McAllen, Texas;
  • Vice-chairman: Salvador Dominguez, a producer from Santa Paula, Calif.;
  • Treasurer: David Fausset importer from Port Hueneme, Calif.; and
  • Secretary: Ben Van Der Kar, a producer from Carpinteria, Calif.

Laurie Luschei, a grower representative who joined the Hass Avocado Board as an alternate in 2013, and most recently was the board’s treasurer, was recognized for her years of service to the board.

The avocado board provides the industry with consolidated supply and market data, conduct nutrition research, educates health professionals and consumers, according to the release.

Related stories:

Cinco de Mayo, Easter and Memorial Day avocado sales increase

USDA announces appointments to Hass Avocado Board

Avocados: Green gold at the end of the rainbow? The numbers say yes