At the 15th annual CAFÉ Leadership Conference in Charlotte, N.C., Annmarie Chelius (from left), Evelyn Sussman, Edward Tracey (on behalf of Mo Montgomery), accept awards at the 2019 Idaho Potato Commission Leadership Innovation Awards for Excellence in Foodservice Education with the commission’s Alan Kahn (far right).
( Courtesy of Idaho Potato Commission )

At Johnson and Wales University in Charlotte, N.C., three culinary instructors won a 2019 Idaho Potato Commission Leadership Innovation Award for Excellence in Foodservice Education.

It was for the Annapolis, Md.-based Center for Advancement of Foodservice Education’s 15th annual leadership conference on June 20. 

This year focused on culinary instructors who provided innovation in a new program area, delivery method or new partnerships with internal or external stakeholders. 

Recipients of the Idaho Potato Commission’s awards are: 

  • Post-Secondary Innovation Award: Annmarie Chelius of the Academy of the Culinary Arts, Atlantic Cape Community College, Mays Landing, N.J. Her course, Applied Culinary Nutrition, allows students to create recipes rather than follow ones requiring an extended pantry, saving them time and money.
  • Post-Secondary Runner-Up Innovation Award: Mo Montgomery of Pueblo Community College, Pueblo, Colo., who created a learning lab that offers workplace experience, with culinary course credits.
  • Secondary Innovation Award: Evelyn Sussman of Stafford County Public Schools, Fredericksburg, Va. She created partnerships — in and out of the classroom — to make students workplace ready. Wearing uniforms, students made and delivered breakfast and lunch to faculty and provided food for onsite functions such as dances and banquets.